ISA 2021 New

International Safety Awards 2021

Our International Safety Awards 2021 scheme is now open to organisations of any sector or size.

What are the International Safety Awards?

The International Safety Awards are health and safety’s most prestigious award scheme. They recognise organisations that have demonstrated commitment to occupational health, safety and wellbeing, regardless of their size or the sector they operate within.

MktoForms2.whenReady(function (form){ //Add an onSuccess handler form.onSuccess(function(values, followUpUrl){ //get the form's jQuery element and hide it form.getFormElem().hide(); document.getElementById('confirmform').style.visibility = 'visible'; //return false to prevent the submission handler from taking the lead to the follow up url. return false; }); });

Why should I apply?

It takes time, effort and hard work to improve health and safety culture within an organisation. Not only do the International Safety Awards give you the recognition you deserve, they also help:

  • Motivate your team
  • Prove your success both within your organisation and to others in the industry
  • Benchmark yourself against other leaders in the field
  • Win new clients, partners and business opportunities
  • Showcase your commitment to excellent health and safety standards.

How can I apply?

The 2021 International Safety Awards scheme is now closed. The winners list will be published 26 March 2021.

Award categories

International Safety Award

Recognises commitment to exemplary health, safety and wellbeing management. Award submissions are site specific. Successful applicants will be awarded Distinction, Merit or Pass grades based on their final score. There is no quota of grades to be awarded. All applicants are invited to celebrate their success, and winners can collect their certificates and trophies at the 2022 awards ceremony and gala dinner.

Additional award categories

International Safety Awards applicants can enter the following three awards.Questions have been provided within your application form. Only one application per category, per site/business unit will be accepted. 

CEO Award 2021 – Leadership in adversity

Rewarding leadership and strategic vision of a CEO (Managing Director, President, Chairperson or Director General) who has made a vital contribution to the health and safety of their business and to the wider society during 2020 by taking an active role in aligning and championing their organisation's health, safety and wellbeing interests with their internal and external stakeholders.  

Health Safety and Wellbeing Ambassador of the Year Award

The Health, Safety and Wellbeing Ambassador of the year Award recognises an employee who, in your opinion, has played a significant role to ensure the health, safety and wellbeing of colleagues and others. The nominee's primary role does not need to be health and safety. The winner will be announced at the Gala Dinner event and publicity will follow the event.

Apply Now.

Team of the Year Award

The Team of the Year Award recognises the outstanding achievements resulting in a significant improvement to health, safety or wellbeing from a collaboration of stakeholders which may include members of the organisation, suppliers, subcontractors and/or the wider community.

Apply Now.

Auto-entry Awards

Sector Awards

Recognise overall 'best in class' submissions to the International Safety Awards, by industry sector. This is a great way to stand out amongst peers and encourages best practice. 

Sector Award categories are: 

  • Manufacturing 
  • Oil, gas, mining and quarrying
  • Power and utilities
  • Construction and property activities 
  • Wholesale and retail services
  • Transportation, distribution and storage 
  • Leisure, sports clubs, hospitality and catering 
  • Education 
  • Health and social care 
  • Not for profit 
  • Financial, IT, legal, scientific and technical services, media 
  • Local government, defence and public services 
  • Onshore major hazard. 

Best in Country Award

All International Safety Award applicants are entered into this award, provided there is a significant number of applications from the same country. The highest scoring and best overall application will be awarded.

Shortlists will be released prior to the Gala Dinner and winners will be announced on the night.

Best in Company Award

This award is for organisations with 50 or more participating sites and recognises the site(s) with the most outstanding applications. 

Shortlists will be released prior to the Gala Dinner and winners will be announced on the night.

Free to Enter Award Categories

You do not have to purchase an International Safety Award to enter any of the following 'Free to Enter' Awards. 

The James Tye Award

Recognition for an organisation or a team of individuals who have developed and run a campaign in 2021 that has made a significant impact on the health, safety or wellbeing in the workplace.

Apply Now.

Health and Safety Transformation Award - Sponsored by Croner-i

This category is for organisations that have significantly changed or transformed any aspect of health, safety or wellbeing to a significant extent through the use of information. Applicants will be asked to describe the transformation, how it was planned, what information was used to help achieve the transformation and what positive impact it has had on the organisation.

Apply Now.

Wellbeing Initiative Award Powered by Being Well Together

This award recognises and rewards those organisations that have demonstrated a proactive and effective approach to improving employee wellbeing.

Apply Now.

NEW: Seize the Opportunity Award

This new award recognises organisations that have gone the extra mile to seize health, safety or wellbeing opportunities resulting from a crisis. In being nominated for this award, the organisation is agreeing to their name and photograph being used by the British Safety Council in various media channels to recognise their achievement.

Apply Now.

NEW: Financial Wellbeing Award

NEW FOR 2020

This award recognises organisations that have demonstrated a proactive and effective approach to improving employee’s financial wellbeing. 

This Award has now closed for 2021. 

Request a call back

Key dates

30 October 2020 Early bird deadline
5 February 2021 Application submission deadline
11 March 2021 Results emailed to applicants
12 March 2021 Winners list published
15 March 2021 Result enquiry deadline
7 May 2020 Gala Dinner booking deadline
21 May 2021 Gala Dinner


Sponsored by

Additional support and videos


We'll shortly be announcing our International Safety Awards webinar where you'll get the chance to ask experts on the best way to craft your application. Details of the webinar will be announced in due course. 

If you would like to register your interest for the forthcoming webinar, please complete this form